Hindu astrology, also known as Vedic astrology, is a system of astrological beliefs in Ancient India and Nepal. It provides a forecast of the future and an understanding of past and present life through celestial bodies’ movements and relative positions. The science behind Vedic astrology is Jyotish Shastra – which translates to “Science of Light.”

Astrology has been used for centuries to make sense of our lives. Vedic astrology is based on the idea that human beings are a part of the universe and therefore affected by it. Vedic astrologers believe that planetary movements set off many events, so understanding these movements is vital to understanding ourselves. 

Planets in Vedic Astrology

Vedic astrology is largely based on the movements of nine planets called Navagrahas. Planets in Vedic astrology include Sun (Surya), Moon (Chandra), Mercury (Budha), Venus (Shukra), Mars (mangal), Jupiter (guru), Saturn (Shani), Rahu (deerghi), and Ketu (dragon)

The following are the details of all these 9 planets.

  1. Sun: This is the most powerful planet of all. It is the king of all the planets. It rules over heart, eyesight, father and overall personality of a person.
  2. Moon: This planet rules over mind, mother, emotions and peace of mind.
  3. Mercury: This planet is ruling intelligence and communication skills.
  4. Venus: This planet rules over romance and artistic abilities.
  5. Mars: This planet represents leadership qualities and will power.
  6. Jupiter: This planet stands for knowledge, wisdom, wealth and children of a person.
  7. Saturn: This planet signifies health issues, longevity and spirituality in a person’s life.
  8. Rahu: This planet stands for desire, addiction, attachment and sudden gains and losses in life.
  9. Ketu: This planet represents detachment from material world.

The navagrahas, along with birth time and location, allow a Vedic astrologer to chart a person’s future and provide guidance on how to live one’s present life.

Planets and Chakras

  1. Sun (Surya) is considered to be the king of all planets. Sun’s position in a horoscope determines a person’s overall personality, appearance, and aura. Sun is directly connected to the heart chakra (Anahata) and is responsible for digestion, blood circulation, and hunger. The Sun represents a person’s father or father figure.
  2. Moon (Chandra) is associated with the throat chakra (Vishuddha). Moon represents a person’s mother or mother figure. Moon influences one’s emotions and moods, memory, speech coordination, sleep patterns, dreams, imagination, creativity, and psychic abilities.
  3. Mercury (Budha) is associated with the third eye chakra (Ajna). Mercury represents one’s intellect or knowledge base. Mercury governs communication skills and logic and reasoning abilities such as abstract thinking and analysis. Mercury governs speech, memory, learning, and the thyroid and nervous system.
  4. Venus (Shukra) is associated with the heart chakra (Anahata). Venus represents one’s sense of aesthetics, taste, and beauty. Venus governs love, romance, relationships, social interactions, and social skills. 
  5. Mars (Mangal) is associated with the sacral chakra (Swadhisthana). Mars represents one’s sexual drive or libido. Mars governs physical strength and stamina, vitality, self-control, assertiveness and aggressiveness, and courage.
  6. Jupiter (Brihaspati) is associated with the root chakra (Muladhara). Jupiter represents one’s sense of purpose and meaning in life. Jupiter governs optimism, faith, generosity, expansiveness, benevolence, and wisdom.
  7. Saturn (Shani) is associated with the third-eye chakra (Ajna). Saturn represents one’s ability to handle responsibility in life. Saturn governs patience, discipline, and delayed gratification, as well as a person’s ability to persist when faced with obstacles.
  8. Rahu (Dragon’s Head) is associated with the brow chakra (Ajna). Rahu represents one’s ability to handle change in life. Rahu governs the immune system and the ability to overcome addictions and addictions.
  9. Ketu (Dragon’s Tail) is associated with the crown chakra (Sahasrara). Ketu represents one’s ability to be successful in life. Ketu governs the brain, learning, wisdom, and one’s ego and ambition.

Why Vedic Astrology?

Vedic astrologers use a system of calculation that takes into account the time and place of birth. This makes it possible for them to accurately forecast or understand past and present life through celestial bodies’ movements and relative positions. 
Considering how much Vedic astrology can help, there’s no doubt why it would benefit those who take advantage of this form of astrology.

Why Vedic Astrologer?

Vedic astrologers believe that planetary movements set off many events, so understanding these movements is vital to understanding ourselves. Vedic astrologers use their knowledge of Jyotish Shastra or Science of Light to predict future events or understand past occurrences to guide people in making better decisions in their lives.


Vedic Astrology is a spiritual and philosophical system of divination that has been practiced since the Vedic era of India. Vedic Astrology is more than just reading someone’s horoscope. It is a way of looking at the whole person, including their past, present, and future, and guiding them in navigating life best.

Vedic Astrology is the most ancient and accurate system of astrology in the world. It is still relevant today and can be used to guide you on your path of self-realization and self-actualization.

Also, Read – Match Making in Vedic Astrology