Kundali Matching for Marriage – Match Making in Vedic Astrology

Kundali Milan, or Vedic matchmaking, is one of the first steps in finalizing a marriage. The process relies on Vedic astrology, whereby the groom’s Kundali or birth chart matches the bride’s.

One of the important sanskaras is marriage, one of the most beautiful moments in someone’s life. It’s also where we find true happiness for ourselves. Kundali Matching plays a vital role at this time of marriage; it is about the couple’s compatibility.

Free Kundali Match Making for Marriage

Enter Girl’s Birth Details
Enter Boy’s Birth Details

Major Factors of Kundali Milan

Matchmaking is a long tradition in many cultures and religions. In Vedic Astrology, the concept of Kundli matching is very important. Some factors are considered during the Kundali Milan for marriage.

  • Guna Milan
  • Manglik Dosha
  • Navamsa Chart Analysis

Guna Milan

The Guna is considered the most essential parameter that is taken into consideration while matching the Kundali of a potential couple.

There are 8 types of Gunas in Kundali Matching that are analyzed to check a partnership or compatibility. Each Guna holds different numeric points, which add up to 36.

A marriage is considered ideal when 18 or more points match. A total of 27 is considered the most ideal. The higher the score, the higher is the compatibility.

In Vedic astrology, there is a process of Kundali Milan, called “Ashtakoot Milan,” which signifies the eight aspects of Gunas. “Ashta” means “Eight,” and “Koota” means “Aspects.”

These eight Kootas are,

1. Varna – 1 Point

This aspect of Gunas shows the spiritual compatibility of Boy and Girl and their ego levels. It is divided into 4 categories: Brahmins (Highest), Kshatriya, Vaishya, and Shudra (Lowest).

2. Vasya – 2 Points

Vashya indicates attraction and control in marriage and the power dynamics between couples. A person is classified into 5 types,

  • Manav/Nara (human)
  • Vanchar (wild animals such as a lion)
  • Chatushpad (small animals such as deer)
  • Jalchar (sea animals)
  • Keeta/Keet (insects)

3. Tara – 3 Points

It is related to birth star compatibility and destiny. There are 27 birth stars (Nakshatra).

4. Yoni – 4 Points

It measures the level of intimacy, compatibility, and mutual love between the couple. Yoni Koot is classified into 14 animals, that are Horse, Elephant, Sheep, Snake, Dog, Cat, Rat, Cow, Buffalo, Tiger, Hare/Deer, Monkey, Lion, and Mongoose.

5. Maitri – 5 Points

It shows mental compatibility, affection, and natural friendship. It also represents the moon sign of compatibility between couples.

6. Gana – 6 Points

It is related to behavior and temperament. Nakshatras (Birth Star) are divided into three categories.

  • Deva (God, indicating Satva Guna)
  • Manava (Human, indicating Rajo Guna)
  • Rakshasa (Demon, indicating Tamo Guna)

7. Rashi or Bhakoot – 7 Points

Rashi matching in the process of Kundali Milan relates to the emotional compatibility between partners. The position of planets in a boy’s birth chart is compared with the girl’s birth chart. Bhakoot comprises 7 of the 36 total points in Guna Milan.

If the boy’s moon is placed in the 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th, 6th house from the girl’s moon, it is considered inauspicious, whereas the 7th and 12th houses are considered good.

In the case of a girl, If the moon is placed in 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th, and 6th houses from the boy’s chart, then it will be auspicious. It will be inauspicious if the moon is placed in 12th from the boy’s chart.

8. Nadi – 8 Points

Nadi Milan is the final and most important parameter in the Guna Milan during kundali matching. Nadi matching alone comprises 8 of the 36 total points in Guna Milan. This is more than the combined total points of Varna matchingVasya matching, and Yoni matching.

3 Types of Nadi

Nadi is related to health and genes. From the Ayurvedic point of view, Nadi is a channel from which Prana or Life force travels.  There are three types of Nadi. –

Nadi NameNadi TypeComposite of Elements
Aadi NadiKapha NadiKapha = Earth + Water
Madhya NadiPitta NadiPitta = Fire + Water
Antya NadiVata NadiVata = Air + Ether

3 Types of Nadi

Nadi based on your Nakshatras

Nadi NameNakshatras
Aadi NadiAshwini, Ardra, Punarvasu, Uttara Phalguni, Hasta, Jyeshtha, Moola, Shatabhisha, Purva Bhadrapada
Madhya NadiBharani, Mrigashira, Pushyami, Purva Phalguni, Chitra, Anuradha, Poorvaashadha, Dhanistha, Uttara Bhadrapada
Antya NadiKritika, Rohini, Aaslesha, Magha, Swati, Vishakha, Uttaraashadha, Shravani, Revati

Types of Nadi according to Nakshatras

Navamsa chart Analysis and Mangal Dosha are other important factors Vedic astrologers look into during the Kundali matching process.

Mangal dosha (Manglik)

Mangal Dosha is one of the most important and probably the most popular doshas in Vedic Astrology. This impacts married life – mostly in the form of delayed or complicated marital life.

When Mars is in the 1st, 2nd, 4th, 7th 8th, or 12th house of a Kundali or Birth chart, it creates a Mangal Dosha or Manglik Dosha. Mangal or Mars is a planet of war, he is commander-in-chief and behaves like a commander.

Mars can make a person aggressive in nature, very active, and high energy as well. Having a Mangal Dosha in Kundali is botha blessing and a curse. It’s up to a person how the high energy of Mars is utilized.

Only Manglik people can understand each other, which is why Vedic astrologers do not usually recommend Manglik person to marry non-Manglik. However, in some cases remedies can be applied to nullify the Manglik dosha.

Mangalik Dosha Remedies

Kumbh Vivah is recommended by most astrologers to cure the placement of Mars before marriage. We recommend Manglik people to fast on Tuesdays, follow the vegetarian diet, and chant Hanuman Chalisa. One should meditate every day to slowly realize the vast amount of energy within. Wearing gemstones can also help nullify the effect of Mangal.

The navamsa chart (D9 Chart) interprets the people’s married life, fate, and destiny. It is also used to determine the strength of planets in Kundali. Navamsa is the more detailed view of the 9th house of Kundali or the Birth Chart.

Navamsa chart is commonly used to analyze the marital life of the native. For the navamsa chart analysis for marriage, the 7th house of the D9 chart is considered an important house to look at.